PDA

View Full Version : ¨how do i launch the game?


smoker93
16-09-12, 08:17
i cant find anything witch to use to launch the game.
i tried restarting steam and my PC. Re installing too. nothing works.


any solutions?

Karriz
16-09-12, 10:09
It should show up in your Steam games list after installing.

Do you have Source SDK Base 2007? You can find it from Steam's tools menu.

Mx7733
16-09-12, 10:56
I also cannot start... when I open SDK 2007 all I get is a stress test?! What is the game name suppost to be? Black mesa?

PlausibleSarge
16-09-12, 11:00
after installing, you need to restart steam. Black Mesa will appear in your steam games library

ShanghaiWall
16-09-12, 12:00
I can't seem to launch Black Mesa too. First, I installed Black Mesa, then found out that I don't have Steam (Duh!), installed it, Source SDK, 2006, 2007. Then turned off Steam, put Black Mesa to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\. Turned on Steam, Black Mesa appeared on the games list. I push play, the window appears, saying Launching Black Mesa, then it disappears and nothing happens. Can't seem to find logs.
I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64x on Asus K43TK notebook. All drivers are up to date.

keen55
16-09-12, 13:37
I can't seem to launch Black Mesa too. First, I installed Black Mesa, then found out that I don't have Steam (Duh!), installed it, Source SDK, 2006, 2007. Then turned off Steam, put Black Mesa to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\. Turned on Steam, Black Mesa appeared on the games list. I push play, the window appears, saying Launching Black Mesa, then it disappears and nothing happens. Can't seem to find logs.
I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64x on Asus K43TK notebook. All drivers are up to date.

Having the same problem. If I install it, it launches after install.

Other than that I dont have a way to start the game.

vktech
16-09-12, 13:53
Try re-installing Black Mesa. Have Steam and the Source SDK's already installed, and make sure you install it to steamapps/"your username"/sourcemods/BMS

Unless you are using any configs or other tweaks, that's all I can tell you.

iluvatar3
16-09-12, 14:26
I can confirm that restarting Steam fixed this issue for me, however I can't speak for others.

smoker93
16-09-12, 16:20
i'l try to re install and yes i have sdk 2007 installed and have restarted steam plenty of times.



I don't know that does it matter that in witch i have installed it. i had it on D and i'm gonna try C so let's see.

Junkman
16-09-12, 20:58
hello guys,
i have same problem.I have Windows XP SP3 and Steam is installed on other partition.(I don't have enough space on partition where is Windows(c:\))

the absolute path to Steam is
g:\Steam\

I installed game here
g:\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\BMS\
(I have read somewhere it's not recommeded to change path / folder name.)

I have installed sdk, sdk 2006, sdk 2007 and still nothing.I reinstalled game several times restart Steam...

One time i tried copy files from BMS to
g:\Steam\SteamApps\<USERNAME>\source sdk base 2007\hl2\
and then(not sure which way worked)
g:\Steam\SteamApps\<USERNAME>\source sdk base 2007\sourcetest\

Then I ran SDK2007 via Steam and I saw menu everything like in mod(intro laboratory,but `Options` in menu didn't work).Then I started play game and nobody didn't come open the train door after train trip.(but I saw other models(robots,people who was doing something)).

metalmunki
16-09-12, 21:08
It's much, much easier if you just obtain the proper install exe guys. Then there is none of this fucking about and its just waiting in your Steam games library.

Junkman
16-09-12, 21:13
I tried turn off steam several times but I had to kill process in task manager because steam still ran in background.(no tray icon or something)

Nataru
17-09-12, 01:35
I restarted Steam after installing Black Mesa. It didn't appear. However, it launches after it finishes. Is there any way to make a shortcut with Steam?

The_One_Above_all
17-09-12, 23:25
i cant find anything witch to use to launch the game.
i tried restarting steam and my PC. Re installing too. nothing works.


any solutions?

I posted instructions on how to get Black Mesa to run on Reddit. Here's the link (pass it on):

http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/101chk/solved_how_to_run_black_mesa_source_if_the_game/

reg091
18-09-12, 10:08
I too cannot find a way of launching the game. I downloaded the zip and the exe and ran the exe. Installation appeared to go through OK. I then installed Source SDK BAse 2007. The only shortcut on desktop is Source SDK Base 2007. Running that gives me a Source Test page.

Their is no Half life or Black Mesa folder in start menu, or icon on desktop.
Their in no half life or black mesa shortcut in the Steam folder on the start menu.

If I launch Steam from the Start menu it appears to connect to a Steam website. I have no need to go online surely as I have just downloaded 3GB of game!

People here talk about it "appearing in your games list"? Where/what is this list? Surely there should be a shortcut on my computer to the exe to run the game? (Like every other game you install!!).

Windows 7 Home Prem 32Bit.

Rabbiddog
18-09-12, 13:36
I too cannot find a way of launching the game. I downloaded the zip and the exe and ran the exe. Installation appeared to go through OK. I then installed Source SDK BAse 2007. The only shortcut on desktop is Source SDK Base 2007. Running that gives me a Source Test page.

Their is no Half life or Black Mesa folder in start menu, or icon on desktop.
Their in no half life or black mesa shortcut in the Steam folder on the start menu.

If I launch Steam from the Start menu it appears to connect to a Steam website. I have no need to go online surely as I have just downloaded 3GB of game!

People here talk about it "appearing in your games list"? Where/what is this list? Surely there should be a shortcut on my computer to the exe to run the game? (Like every other game you install!!).

Windows 7 Home Prem 32Bit.

Steam doesn't exactly work like that. The shortcuts for games installed via Steam use a game ID number in the shortcut to direct Steam which game to launch. The shortcut itself launches Steam. Here would be my suggestion to try and get this to work.

1. Uninstall Black Mesa, Source SDK and Steam completely. Remove all references to all three from your system.
2. Reboot.
3. Reinstall Steam first and log into your Steam account.
4. Reinstall Source SDK 2007.
5. Reinstall Black Mesa using the setup.exe that can be downloaded with the main mod.
6. Make sure when the install runs that it is installing to YOUR Steam directory (I don't know if it defaults to C drive or not, so you should verify this). Do not change the names of any of the default folders it lists in the install.
7. Once installed the game will launch. Let it launch then shut it down.
8. Restart Steam. Log into Steam and near the top of the UI is a menu, look for the 'Library' menu and click on it. This will bring up a list of all Steam games available to you (even if they aren't installed). Look for Black Mesa (the list is in Alphabetical order). Double click the game to launch.
8. (Optional) If you would like a shortcut for the game on your desktop, right click on Black Mesa in your Library and on the little pop up menu select "Create Desktop Shortcut".

If this doesn't work then I cannot say for sure what the issue is.

SykoPyro
18-09-12, 14:54
Make sure to allow Source SDK to completely install.

ie: Steam will tell you that it is installing SSDK 07, then after it's finished that, it will install SSDK 06. Both have to be installed.

Also, don't touch anything behind the scenes, let the installer do all of the work for you...

reg091
20-09-12, 18:52
Steam doesn't exactly work like that. The shortcuts for games installed via Steam use a game ID number in the shortcut to direct Steam which game to launch. The shortcut itself launches Steam. Here would be my suggestion to try and get this to work.

1. Uninstall Black Mesa, Source SDK and Steam completely. Remove all references to all three from your system.
2. Reboot.
3. Reinstall Steam first and log into your Steam account.
4. Reinstall Source SDK 2007.
5. Reinstall Black Mesa using the setup.exe that can be downloaded with the main mod.
6. Make sure when the install runs that it is installing to YOUR Steam directory (I don't know if it defaults to C drive or not, so you should verify this). Do not change the names of any of the default folders it lists in the install.
7. Once installed the game will launch. Let it launch then shut it down.
8. Restart Steam. Log into Steam and near the top of the UI is a menu, look for the 'Library' menu and click on it. This will bring up a list of all Steam games available to you (even if they aren't installed). Look for Black Mesa (the list is in Alphabetical order). Double click the game to launch.
8. (Optional) If you would like a shortcut for the game on your desktop, right click on Black Mesa in your Library and on the little pop up menu select "Create Desktop Shortcut".

If this doesn't work then I cannot say for sure what the issue is.

Kudos to you sir! Thanks, I didn't need to do the re-installing, it was just me not understanding that you have to go online to launch the game (that is pretty odd).

frantel
22-09-12, 23:26
to run modify this and create own shortcut

"D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 218 -game "D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\BMS"

PSpectrum62
02-10-12, 18:44
to run modify this and create own shortcut

"D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 218 -game "D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\BMS"

Finally worked! Thank you! :D

PSpectrum62
02-10-12, 18:45
Finally worked! Thank you! :D

harunjuhasz
03-10-12, 01:06
thank you!

shawn1az
03-10-12, 03:26
It took me a while to figure out that the "download" link I was clicking was actually a spam download link. Read the instructions "Please select a download mirror to begin your download." then select a mirror sight. The actual download will take quite a while.

jacsteijn
09-10-12, 06:40
If you can't find Black Mesa in the game list, try creating a shortcut for any game on your desktop, right click for properties, & in the URL field under the Web Document tab, paste this:

steam://rungameid/13540830642081628378